logo
-Click on the above header to return to the index-

Rose

quartz rose Rose comes to us from Central Asia. India tells us that the goddess Lakshmi was born in a rose. Symbol of fertility in Asia, the earth of election of Rose is Antique Persia. In the Greek mythology, Cybčle created the rose by jealousy of the goddess Aphrodite. Venus running to aid of wounded Adonis, tried of its blood a hedge of white roses so giving birth to the red rose. Of the Antiquity in the Middle Ages, the rose served of deodorizing. In Rome the rose accompanied the gelatin and the honey. The oriental peoples use even today, petals to make jams, syrups, sherbets …

The medicinal virtues of the rose are recognized from Ancient Rome. However, it is in the Middle Ages that its high content of vitamin C is appreciated. Cooking, beauty, medicine, symbol of the love the rose adorns itself with multiple facets. Some of its virtues would be: astringent, healing, fortifying.

Famous Doctor Valnet ( 1920-1995 ) who practised the forensic medecine, the psychiatry, the microbiology and the hygiene, the colonial medicine and the occupational medicine was a lover follower of the alternative medicine. His recommendation to realize a can of pink roses is to mix 750 g of sugar and 250g of fresh petals of buttons. Add some rose water to obtain a similar dough in some honey. Take 5 in 10g of this liquid in case of lung congestion or to improve our complexion.

-Copyright Sophie Juramy 2008. No reproduction or distribution for any country without written consent of the author-

logo

La Rose

quartz rose La Rose nous vient d’Asie Centrale. L’Inde nous raconte que la déesse Lakshmi est née d’une rose. Symbole de fertilité en Asie, la terre d’élection de la Rose est la Perse Antique. Dans la mythologie grecque, Cybèle créa la rose par jalousie de la déesse Aphrodite. Vénus courant au secours d’Adonis blessé, tâcha de son sang une haie de roses blanches donnant ainsi naissance à la rose rouge. De l’Antiquité au Moyen Âge, la rose servait de désodorisant. A Rome la rose accompagnait la gélatine et le miel. Les peuples orientaux utilisent encore aujourd’hui, les pétales pour fabriquer des confitures, des sirops, des sorbets…

Les vertus médicinales de la rose sont reconnues dès la Rome Antique. Cependant , c’est au Moyen Âge que sa haute teneur en vitamine C est appréciée. Cuisine, beauté, médecine, symbole de l’amour la rose se pare de multiples facettes. Certaines de ses vertus seraient : astringente, cicatrisante, fortifiante.

Le célèbre Docteur Valnet (1920-1995) qui pratiquait la médecine légale, la psychiatrie, microbiologie et hygiène, la médecine coloniale et la médecine du travail était un fervent adepte de la médecine naturelle. Sa recommandation pour réaliser une conserve de roses est de mélanger 750 g de sucre et 250g de pétales frais de boutons. Ajouter de l’eau de rose pour obtenir une pâte semblable à du miel. Prendre 5 à 10g de ce liquide en cas d’encombrement pulmonaire ou pour améliorer son teint.

-Textes et Photos Sophie Juramy. Tout droit de reproduction et de diffusion pour tout pays est interdit sans autorisation explicite de l'auteur-